Hillsborough letters

Letters to my family from Hillsborough survivors

My mum recently let me have the letters that she and my dad received from the Liverpool families after the Hillsborough disaster. I’d like to share them with you. I have removed the names of the people involved but I think you’ll agree they are just as powerful.

 

Dear Mr and Mrs Jones

We would like to thank you so much for your kindness and concern for our son last Saturday. You can’t begin to imagine the relief we felt when you allowed him to use your phone to ring us, and let us know he was well. He told us of your great kindness to him and we can’t thank you enough.

I know that your kindness relieved the terrible distress he was in.

We feel so very fortunate to have him back safely home with us, as so many of his friends have been killed.

He is finding it difficult to sleep and his back is very painful, but we are so glad he is alive.

It’s good to know when people are in need there are good people like you who will help them.

Thank you again for your kindness.

Yours most gratefully.

 

 

Dear Chris and Dave

I feel I have to write a short letter to thank you and your wonderful family for all your help and love during the Hillsborough tragedy. I was one of the lucky people who was fortunate enough to come home unscathed. I also want to tell you how grateful I am that I had the good fortune to meet you, and only wish it could have been under different circumstances. You and your family were kind, generous and caring when I and my friends needed help most.

You can be certain that my friends and I will be forever grateful to you all. I want you to know that we are proud of the people and city of Sheffield in general, but honoured to have met such fantastic people as yourselves.

I remain in your debt forever.

Leave a Reply

