Why I’m not offended by Richard Scudamore

Richard Scudamore

Written for The Offside Rule Podcast

I don’t often start articles with a caveat but I want to make some things clear from the start:

  • What Premier League chief executive, Richard Scudamore, said in the discovered emails was sexist and derogatory to women.
  • The Premier League’s decision to take ‘no further action’ was wrong. Some sanction should have been carried out.

I realise that by writing this next part I’m opening myself up to criticism and I am by no means on the side of the ineffable Katie Hopkins who said that this was just “banter”.

A good male friend of mine once said to me that he’s wary of women because you should “never trust something that bleeds for a week and doesn’t die.”

He was joking. I laughed. It was factual and funny. It was also incredibly sexist.

Read the full article here.

Leave a Reply

